PFD's Save Lives, Maybe Yours
The Florida Marine Patrol and Florida Game and Fresh Water Fish Commission report that 80%
of the persons killed in boating accidents each year could have been saved if they were wearing a
Personal Flotation Device, commonly referred to as a life jacket, at the time of the accident.
The U. S. Coast Guard requires that all boats have one PFD on board for every person on the
boat. Persons in vessels under 16 feet long, including canoes and kayaks, must have either a
wearable or thowable PFD for every person on board. For boats 16 feet and longer, you must
have one wearable PFD for each person on-board plus one throwable device.
Florida law adds an additional PFD requirement for boaters in state waters. Any child under the age of six must wear a life jacket when aboard boats less than 26 feet in length, while under way. Boaters who ignore this law can be fined up to $35 per violation.
Fishing | Hunting | Camping | Birding | Wildlife Watching | SCUBA Diving | Canoe/Kayaking | Parks & Preserves
Conservation/Environment | Boating | Golfing | Equine | Kris's Corner | Home